# THE FC WORLD

#### Gameweek 19

# The SUPER20 CUP 2019

### POGBA MAKES GREDLEY A HISTORY MAKER

**Ian Gredley's captain Paul Pogba hit an amazing 36 points helping Gredley to victory and become the first ever manager to retain the Super20 Cup.** A close final came down to the final match of the gameweek with both managers having their captains to play. Reigning Premier League Champions Lee Ferridge played his wildcard for the final and made 7 changes to his squad. Ian Gredley used his two free transfers one of which proved o be decisive bringing in Manchester United's Paul Pogba for

Pogba's second goal

Paul Pogba £8.1		Pren	nier (
	MUN 4-1 BOU		
Statistic			Pts
Bonus		3	3
Assists		1	3
Minutes played		90	2
Goals scored		2	10

Pogba's amazing stats for the final

Liverpool's Saido Mane. After the first fixture of the gameweek Gredley held a single point advantage. After Saturday's 3pm matches the lead was 8 points. Then in the last fixture on Saturday Lee Ferridge saw Mo Salah hit 12 points helping to put him into the lead in the final by 6 points. With 4 fixtures to be played on Sunday both managers had 5 players to play. The first fixture saw Gredley see David Luiz & Eden Hazard of Chelsea and Crystal Palace defender Wan-Bissaka take the field. They added 17 points Luiz hitting 12. Gredley now led by 11 points with two players remaining in the last fixture both of Manchester United Anthony Martial and captain Paul Pogba. Before the final fixture Ferridge would see West Ham's Lukasz Fabianski and Raheem Sterling of Manchester City play. He also had Southampton's Danny Ings but Ings would not play. Sterling and Fabianski added 8 points to Ferridge's total leaving him trailing by just 3 points. The last fixture of the final would see Ferridge pit his Manchester United duo Jesse Lingaard and captain Marcus Rashford alongside David Brooks (Bournemouth) coming off the bench for Ings. In the 5<sup>th</sup> minute some amazing skill from Rashford saw him gain an assist unfortunately for Ferridge he assisted Pogba. That saw Gredley move back to a 6 point advantage then in 33<sup>rd</sup> minute Pogba scored again increasing the lead to 16 points. On the 45<sup>th</sup> minute a lifeline for Ferridge as Rashford scored but the assist came from Martial. Just two minutes later David Brooks assisted for Ferridge and Bournemouth reducing the deficit to Then in the 72<sup>nd</sup> Minute Paul Pogba gained an assist taking the lead back to 14 8 points. points. No more assists or goals were recorded. Rashford got 2 bonus points and Pogba got 3 with the added appearance points Ian Gredley had won the final by 15 points.

Lee Ferridge 57 Ian Gredley 72

# SUPER20 CUP 2019 SEMI-FINAL GAMEWEEK DREAM TEAM

### Dream Team







SUPER20 CUP 2019 FINAL RESULT



Lee Ferridge 57 - 72 Ian Gredley

## SUPER20 CUP 2019 FINAL STATISTICS



HIGHEST SCORE 72 Ian Gredley

### AGGREGATE SCORE

129 Lee Ferridge 57 Ian Gredley 72

### WINNING MARGIN

15 Lee Ferridge 57 Ian Gredley 72



SUPER20 CUP 2019 THE HISTORY

### **PREVIOUS FINALS**

2008	Rob Gurney	67	-	48	Adam Pemberton
2009	Adam Pemberton	58	-	49	Omid Afzalalghom
2010	Simon Baker	67	-	36	Adam Pemberton
2011	Rob Gurney	42	-	36	Andy Gurney
2012	Kojo Amofa	79	-	61	Dave Sinclair
2013	James Dwinfour	60	-	54	Paul Richardson
2014	Andy Gurney	50	-	37	James Dwinfour
2015	Steve Shew	44	-	33	Andy Taylor
2016	James Dwinfour	46	-	42	Rob Gurney
2017	Andy Taylor	70	-	48	Jeff Aldersea
2018	Ian Gredley	71	-	64	Steve Shew
2019	lan Gredley	72	-	57	Lee Ferridge

#### WINNERS

Ian Gredley	2	Adam Pemberton	
James Dwinfour	2	James Dwinfour	
Rob Gurney	2	Rob Gurney	
Adam Pemberton	1	Andy Gurney	
Andy Gurney	1	Andy Taylor	
Andy Taylor	1	Ian Gredley	
Kojo Amofa	1	Steve Shew	
Simon Baker	1	Dave Sinclair	
Steve Shew	1	Jeff Aldersea	

#### FINALISTS

3	Kojo Amofa	1
3	Lee Ferridge	1
3	Omid Afzalalghom	1
2	Paul Richardson	1
2	Simon Baker	1
2		
2		
1		
1		

The Super20 Cup is the ultimate challenge it is the hardest competition to qualify. Over the seasons just 37 managers have qualified. Below they are listed in order of the number of seasons they have qualified for the competition.

Omid Afzalalghom	11	Jean-Pierre Clegg	2	Kojo Amofa	1
Rob Gurney	8	Jim Burrows	2	Lee Ferridge	1
Andy Gurney	7	Michael Lynn	2	Michael Carleton	1
James Dwinfour	6	Paul Richardson	2	Oliver Shanks	1
Dave Sinclair	5	Robin Wilson	2	Patrick Hutchinson	1
Steve Shew	5	Simon Baker	2	Patrick O'Connor	1
Adam Pemberton	4	Steve Haley	2	Roari Fox	1
Andy Taylor	4	Stewart Lunn	2	Sam Shew	1
Jeff Aldersea	4	Andreas Themistocleous	1	Steve Martin	1
lan Gredley	3	Andrew Burchell	1	Steve Whitely	1
Richard Munroe	3	Graham Price	1	Stuart Powell	1
Darrell Jenkins	2	Ian Philp	1		
Glen Hogwood	2	Kelvin Walker	1		